Search this site...
Sep
10
2015
Sep 10, 2015

thingsthatwedo.com - inside out forget this book

Disney Pixar sure can hit some home runs. Their recent movie, Inside Out, was a favourite with my daughter. She loved that movie and we talked about it incessantly. Of course, that later lead to this: buying the ‘Inside Out Forget This!’ book.

I won’t go into full details about this book because that would ruin everything. The point of today’s post: we need more books like this!

Why?

When was the last time you saw a book like this: it lets the reader decide the ending! When I was a child (that was many moons ago), there used to be a ton of books like this. I’d read up to a certain part of the story line and then I’d have to make a decision. One decision would lead me to a particular page number while a different decision would lead me elsewhere.

thingsthatwedo.com - inside out forget this book

Boy, I used to LOVE those books. I remember the excitement of being involved, of feeling like I was somehow influencing the fate of the story. Now that my big kid is 9 years old, this is only the second ‘decide your fate’ type of book that I’ve come across.

The best part is, the ‘choose your own adventure’ layout lends itself perfectly to the Inside Out storyline. With 5 different emotions and 5 very different personalities, you can just imagine the kind of antics that could happen with each ending.

thingsthatwedo.com - inside out forget this book

Honestly, I’m a big fan of the movie but a movie is a movie is a movie and there is only so much you can do with a movie. Having a good book like this ‘Inside Out Forget This!’ adds depth and substance to the movie. It gives children an opportunity to stretch their thinking from the original movie into different scenarios and offers them a chance to view the world from different perspectives.

thingsthatwedo.com - inside out forget this book

A big thank you to the creators of this ‘Inside Out Forget This!’ book. Thank you for bringing back a long lost form of storytelling. I only wish more publishers would make these ‘decide your fate’ books!

thingsthatwedo.com - inside out forget this book

Reminder: this post was written by and for thingsthatwedo.com only. If you see this post anywhere else except on my site at thingsthatwedo.com, know that I have not consented to having any part of this post (or this website for that matter), to be re-produced, copied, or re-printed anywhere else. Practice ethical posting!

Copyright© 2015 ThingsThatWeDo.com. All Rights Reserved.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© 2015 ThingsThatWeDo.com. All Rights Reserved.